Click Here!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Computer Problem. It's not turning on.

  1. #11
    Stalker of Padma No One's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,768
    Liked
    49 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WingHater View Post
    Just tell your cousin to fix the f***in computer they built
    This is why I don't like building for others, unless I am real clear about what I will do and what I won't do when it comes to repairs, especially after one year.


    When I build my own, all bets are off!!!!

  2. #12
    KISSTORY
    Guest

    Talking

    one word!! APPLE!

  3. #13
    Chipping for par lath19's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,319
    Liked
    5 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KISSTORY View Post
    one word!! APPLE!
    Yes, because there has never been a hardware problem with any Apple every produced.

  4. #14
    Available for Parties




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    4,575
    Liked
    28 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    geeksquad

  5. #15
    <3 Tanner <3 TooCool's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    15,068
    Liked
    8333 times
    Karma
    2147483647
    Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    818 Post(s)

    Default

    Thank you for all the replies!! Life can be boring as hell without a computer. It's made me realize just how much time I spend reading forums... lol. Plus there's nothing good on TV in the summer. Ridiculous.

    Anyway, I got a response from my cousin and I think from the sound of it, he doesn't want to be bothered to fix it. I don't know one thing about fixing the motherboard problem. The link was great though Creeping Death, but it's way way too complicated for me.

    I did what Die Radio Die said, and I decided to order a Dell. But I won't be expecting it until around August 6-8... which is ridiculously slow! >_< So I gotta find a way to survive the next 2 weeks, as pathetic as that sounds.

    Just a question. Is it possible to grab the old hard drives (I had 3 hard drives in the custom built computer) and somehow plug it into the new one? I have some music there, and lots of family photos that I would like to recover.

    What has me most annoyed is my AIM Screen Name. The one I've been using for 5+ years. I totally forgot the password, and the e-mail I had registered with it long ago doesn't seem to exist anymore. So I can't figure out my password (whatever I put) or can't even get an email that gives me a new temporary password.
    Facebook: facebook.com/grtoocool Twitter: @LGKTooCool

    While it seems like most of you are allergic to the "like" button, I just want to personally say thanks for looking anyway.

    Rink Dawg

  6. #16
    I don't rattle, kid. Kubrick's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15,731
    Liked
    1780 times
    Karma
    1148900
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    441 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TooCool View Post
    Thank you for all the replies!! Life can be boring as hell without a computer. It's made me realize just how much time I spend reading forums... lol. Plus there's nothing good on TV in the summer. Ridiculous.

    Anyway, I got a response from my cousin and I think from the sound of it, he doesn't want to be bothered to fix it. I don't know one thing about fixing the motherboard problem. The link was great though Creeping Death, but it's way way too complicated for me.

    I did what Die Radio Die said, and I decided to order a Dell. But I won't be expecting it until around August 6-8... which is ridiculously slow! >_< So I gotta find a way to survive the next 2 weeks, as pathetic as that sounds.

    Just a question. Is it possible to grab the old hard drives (I had 3 hard drives in the custom built computer) and somehow plug it into the new one? I have some music there, and lots of family photos that I would like to recover.

    What has me most annoyed is my AIM Screen Name. The one I've been using for 5+ years. I totally forgot the password, and the e-mail I had registered with it long ago doesn't seem to exist anymore. So I can't figure out my password (whatever I put) or can't even get an email that gives me a new temporary password.
    Good choice. I hope you purchased an extended warranty though just in case.

    I just got a new notebook from Dell that I was given a 3 week turn-around build time on. I had it in hand in 2 and I'm VERY pleased with it.

    Enjoy!

  7. #17
    VF
    VF is online now
    Sittin' on the couch VF's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,405
    Liked
    150 times
    Karma
    1017600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TooCool View Post
    Just a question. Is it possible to grab the old hard drives (I had 3 hard drives in the custom built computer) and somehow plug it into the new one? I have some music there, and lots of family photos that I would like to recover.
    This is pretty easy. If you open your old case, looking at the hard drives, you will see that there is a power cable and a data cable plugged into each one. The first thing you need to figure out what type of connection they are. If they are IDE drives the cable will be a wide, flat cable. If they are SATA, it will usually be a smaller, red cable with a black plug. The next thing you have to find out is how many free channels your new computer has. IDE will allow two devices per channel, were SATA will only allow one device per channel. Most likely, if it is a new computer, it will already have at least one SATA channel occupied by the new HD, and perhaps two or more if the CD /DVD drive is also SATA. It depends on the mobo that comes with your new machine, but most are at least 4 channel SATA, so if all three HDs from your old machine are SATA, more than likely, you will just be able to plug two of the three in, grab the data, then swap the drives out for the other. If you want all three permanently mounted in your new machine and you don't have enough SATA ports, you can always get SATA card that will fit in your IDE / eIDE slots to give you a few more SATA channels.

    If all the HDs from your old machine are IDE, it is a little more involved. First thing you need to understand with these is that because two devices are allowed on one channel, one of the devices needs to be a master, and one needs to be the slave, or they both need to be set on cable select. If in your new machine, the CD or DVD drives are IDE, what ever else you put on that channel will have to be set to slave (because if something is sitting by itself on an IDE, it has to be master) - you can set master / slave setting usually by moving a jumper on the back of the drive, there is usually a little diagram printed on the HD showing you which jumper position is which. If you have a completely free IDE channel, be sure the two HDs your are hooking up to it are a combination of master and slave, and they are not both set to the same thing. If you have run out of IDE channels, you can also buy a card that will give you another, similar to a SATA card.

  8. #18
    beingbobbyorr
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TooCool View Post
    ... Anyway, I got a response from my cousin and I think from the sound of it, he doesn't want to be bothered to fix it. I don't know one thing about fixing the motherboard problem. The link was great though Creeping Death, but it's way way too complicated for me.

    I did what Die Radio Die said, and I decided to order a Dell. But I won't be expecting it until around August 6-8... which is ridiculously slow! ...
    From 1991-2002 I made a point of buying all my PCs from a local Mom-n-Pop computer shop precisely because they knew me and I could bring the machine in for trouble-shooting on a same-day walk-in basis.

    Mail-order (usually) = long-distance trouble-shooting (usually) = delays and communication hassles I don't need ..... but since 2002, PC clock speeds have gotten so high that I have had to buy from special quiet computer sources that are not local, but I've lucked out that the place I latched onto produces grade-A quality computers that haven't really needed any servicing: http://www.endpcnoise.com

  9. #19
    Socrates
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TooCool View Post
    But I won't be expecting it until around August 6-8.
    What departent did you order it from?

  10. #20
    VF
    VF is online now
    Sittin' on the couch VF's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,405
    Liked
    150 times
    Karma
    1017600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by beingbobbyorr View Post
    ...I latched onto produces grade-A quality computers that haven't really needed any servicing: http://www.endpcnoise.com
    Man, I am having some serious lust for that Zalman case now! Mmmmmmmm....

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28