Click Here!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Does Wireless router effect speed?

  1. #1
    waxing poetic Hipcheck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    30,869
    Liked
    1817 times
    Karma
    1020000
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    220 Post(s)

    Default Does Wireless router effect speed?

    Maybe a stupid question but....Ive got a wireless router thats of the standard 24g/54m varietyand I just upgraded to a system that supposedly allows

    Downstream Speed: Up to 6.0 Mbps
    Upstream Speed: Up to 768 Kbps

    My current test was this...
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/559868948.png



    Questions are...

    Is my current system slow/fast?
    Does that standard router effect internet speed?

    What are some basic tricks/tips to increase/maximize speed?
    "How Dare You Trump My Clever Witticism"

    Click 4 LGK INTERNET RADIO ARCHIVE

  2. #2
    Winning is habitual. Len-Det64's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,943
    Liked
    98 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    Default

    Your wireless router should not effect the down/up load speed of your internet. They are much faster and more reliable than any ISP. The only place that your router will affect speed is transferring files from one computer to the other on you personal network. Most routers are fast enough for the average Joe to not notice anything significant but if you are going to be streaming media across the network you might see some delay times in your media player depending on the size and quality of your original file.


    Vote For LGK's Team Sexy
    Click Here

    "If you can accept losing, you can't win."
    Vince Lombardi

  3. #3
    You'll Never Walk Alone chu gar's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    7,311
    Liked
    16 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    I too am interested in the answer to this question.

  4. #4
    Sarcastic Ass nocturn's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    8,141
    Liked
    2670 times
    Karma
    1105000
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    329 Post(s)

    Default

    It decreases my up/down speed by about 15%. If I go straight ethernet/Motorola Surfboard, it rips....

    My wireless router is a few years old now (D-Link) so the newer ones are probably better. Mine is plenty fast enough for me either way.

    It does however bog down pretty good when all 3 of the family's laptops are going at once.
    Last edited by nocturn; September 8th, 2009 at 11:41 AM.

  5. #5
    Sarcastic Ass nocturn's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    8,141
    Liked
    2670 times
    Karma
    1105000
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    329 Post(s)

    Default

    Here's mine with the wireless router:

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/560003188.png

    Are you Broadband Hip??? Thats slow dude.
    Last edited by nocturn; September 8th, 2009 at 11:48 AM.

  6. #6
    1st Scoring Line BigBrown's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,592
    Liked
    706 times
    Karma
    1055400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    39 Post(s)

    Default

    You can always expect some loss in speed with a wireless connection. That's just the nature of the medium. I'd say your speedtest results are in line with what can be expected.

  7. #7
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    182 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Yes, it does.

    Check to see what channels are being used on the wireless networks around your house. Choose either channels 1, 6, or 11. Whichever of those 3 has the least amount of wireless networks on it, use it. It should improve signal quality.
    And thats how you get ants!

  8. #8
    waxing poetic Hipcheck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    30,869
    Liked
    1817 times
    Karma
    1020000
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    220 Post(s)

    Default

    Im working right now directly from the dsl ethernet to the computer....funny that it doesnt really seem that much faster. Should I clear cache or enable something in the control panel for direct connections to make it faster?
    Last edited by Hipcheck; September 9th, 2009 at 09:32 AM.
    "How Dare You Trump My Clever Witticism"

    Click 4 LGK INTERNET RADIO ARCHIVE

  9. #9
    Frozen Fury JACKPOT!! dgrycan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10,253
    Liked
    148 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    44 Post(s)

    Default

    Hip,

    I have a 6.0 Mbps line as well, and my numbers are almost identical to yours.

  10. #10
    Still here.... DRice's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3,966
    Liked
    395 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    45 Post(s)

    Default

    This is what I get Hip....



    You are fine because you also have to figure in ip packet overhead and the fact that the service is 'up to 6.0' and 'up to 768', not a guarantee of it.
    LA Kings Hockey - Disappointing Kings fans since 1967!

    LA Kings Hockey - 2012 Stanley Cup Champions!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28