Click Here!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Help! My computer is now super slow after installing Mcafee!

  1. #1
    1st Scoring Line JackBarlow's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,831
    Liked
    61 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    Default Help! My computer is now super slow after installing Mcafee!

    So after I installed McAfee my computer has been super slow. This happened with Norton as well and after I un-installed it it worked faster. So what should I do? Get more memory? Should I go to fastatlast.com or some other web site or are those scams?

  2. #2
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    182 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    They are scams.

    Get rid of norton or mcafee and either use AVG Free or buy a copy of Nod32.

    I would also run the norton removal tool here - Download and run the Norton Removal Tool

    and the mcafee one here - How to uninstall or reinstall supported McAfee consumer products using the McAfee Consumer Products Removal tool (MCPR.exe)

    You should also probably grab a copy of SuperAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes Antimalware, and run a scan with those. It should help get your computer running a bit faster. Lastly, make sure you have at least 4GB of RAM.
    And thats how you get ants!

  3. #3
    1st Scoring Line JackBarlow's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,831
    Liked
    61 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    Default

    If i add more memory though, whould I be able to run McAfee? It doesn't slow down my wife's laptop at all, but of course hers is much newer.

  4. #4
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    182 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Honestly, McAfee sucks. Its slow and doesnt do a very good job of finding viruses. They just have a better marketing campaign than AVG or Nod32.
    And thats how you get ants!

  5. #5
    1st Scoring Line JackBarlow's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,831
    Liked
    61 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    Default

    I took it off and it runs faster, and I only have 512MB of RAM, so now I need to buy some more....thanx brah.

  6. #6
    The gates have opened RoyalPain's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    4,648
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JackBarlow View Post
    I took it off and it runs faster, and I only have 512MB of RAM, so now I need to buy some more....thanx brah.
    McAfee and Symantec tend to be Resource Hogs.

  7. #7
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,566
    Liked
    9327 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default

    wow, 512 MB Ram? what are you running? a 486 machine?
    I BELIEVE I'll have another beer!

  8. #8
    Sarcastic Ass nocturn's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    8,139
    Liked
    2667 times
    Karma
    1105000
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    329 Post(s)

    Default

    The new Norton 360 is really light on the resources. Its actually a decent combo.

  9. #9
    Iím sicka the high hat!! santiclaws's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,839
    Liked
    16768 times
    Karma
    1661409
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    572 Post(s)

    Default

    I would never touch Norton again with a 10-foot pole. I once had to spend an hour manually ripping out every piece of their crappy software from the registry and system files. They of course knew of the problem, hence there were detailed instructions on the site on how to manually do it, which was the only saving grace.

  10. #10
    1st Scoring Line JackBarlow's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,831
    Liked
    61 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BeerMan View Post
    wow, 512 MB Ram? what are you running? a 486 machine?
    Actually it's an AMD Athlon 1.15GHZ processor, which we bulit about 7 years ago. So maybe I should look into more memory eh.......

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28