Click Here!
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: Help: Who Should I Kill First? AT&T or TimeWarner?

  1. #1
    magniloquent CBGB's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10,448
    Liked
    246 times
    Karma
    1072942
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    51 Post(s)

    Default Help: Who Should I Kill First? AT&T or TimeWarner?

    For the last decade, I've had a wonderful 2-wire wireless home networking system. Well, the router blew out and AT&T wouldn't give me a new one so I had to go spend 100 bucks on a new AT&T one.

    It worked fine on my MacBookPro, but wouldn't on the wife's XP Desktop PC. Hello, Tech support. 4 hours later and I was ready to kill someone.

    Next day, tech support. Another 2 hours. He insults me, I tell him to politely do something that's humanly impossible.

    I then call TimeWarner who offers their cable internet service with 19x faster than AT&T. I'm stoked.

    The techies come by and install the thing.

    Not only does it not work in the wife's PC, my Mac is now DIAL-UP slow. They run tests using Speedtest.net. 5.41 download and 1.68 upload. Um, that's SLOWER than what I was getting at AT&T and hardly 19x faster. I can't even watch a YouTube video for at least 5 minutes while waiting for it to upload.

    The Time Warner guys (and the techie on the phone) can't figure it out so now I have to take off early on Friday while the supervisor comes out to figure out what's wrong.

    This is twenty fricken ten!

    WTF is wrong?

    A frustrated CBGB
    Last edited by CBGB; September 1st, 2010 at 11:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Thanks for the memories Unruely35's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8,170
    Liked
    178 times
    Karma
    1015000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)

    Default

    Start with ATT.

    then when ATT fixes their issue and gives you a satisfactory resolution that includes extensive account credits... tell TW to do something that's humanly possible and that youre going BACK to ATT.

    then write strongly worded letters to both.

  3. #3
    Classic player VCRW's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11,422
    Liked
    8401 times
    Karma
    675518277
    Images
    15
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1380 Post(s)

    Default

    FiOS. Does your neighborhood have fiber?

  4. #4
    \_(ツ)_/ Kaos's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,631
    Liked
    9677 times
    Karma
    1147580
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    61 Post(s)

    Default

    He is in an AT&T area. No Verizon Fios available in an AT&T area.

  5. #5
    Stalker of Padma No One's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,768
    Liked
    49 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default




    See that, I totally feel your pain main. I am paying for 35/35, and all I am getting is this lousy 43/32.


  6. #6
    King of Swing BIG JOE's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6,614
    Liked
    1175 times
    Karma
    1055000
    Images
    72
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    28 Post(s)

    Default


  7. #7
    Genghis John
    Guest

    Default

    I can't be off much help here but don't buy a router from AT&T. Go buy a linksys one from Frys or Newegg. It'll be the same router for way less money.

  8. #8
    Triple Crown Line JETS GARAGE's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,990
    Liked
    12386 times
    Karma
    1255880
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    133 Post(s)

    Default

    I think that Time warner can adjust the amount of bandwidth you are getting. They might have it set at a low rate. That is what might be causing the computers to not work properly. Call them up and tell them to check the amount of bandwith you are receiving. They may be able to fix it over the phone. 2c If that doesnt work, use Big Joe's suggestion.

  9. #9
    It's all good man Bogey's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    25,807
    Liked
    4937 times
    Karma
    9380332
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1408 Post(s)

    Default



    Using TW broadband.
    Why is my upload speed so much slower?

  10. #10
    1st Scoring Line




    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,415
    Liked
    8 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Default

    I copied the FCC on my letter to Cox. I actually got a responsce from the FCC. Seems your cable company is responsible for letting you know what they're doing to fix the situation.

    Mine works pretty well now. Good Luck.

    I'm bugging the hell out of AT&T because I'm not in and area for their new system either.

    Oh, and I got a $100 credit because my TV service was very intermittent.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28