Click Here!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Internet issue toshiba laptop

  1. #1
    Sick Geno ya plug P. Diddy's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,393
    Liked
    864 times
    Karma
    148446071
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    213 Post(s)

    Default Internet issue toshiba laptop

    So I'm helping a friend and trying to fix her computer. It won't connect to the web wired or wireless. I've tried to uninstall the network driver, spyware/virus sweep, ccleaner, and a few little tricks but nothing is working. I keep getting that there is no ip adress, and that a local area cable 2 is not installed. HALP PLZ! It's on vista and I just installed sp2.

  2. #2
    Winning is habitual. Len-Det64's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,943
    Liked
    98 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    Default

    First mistake is that the operating system is Vista. Install Windows 7. It's one of the most stable OS's from MS. It may even fix your network issue.
    Last edited by Len-Det64; May 12th, 2011 at 08:09 PM.


    Vote For LGK's Team Sexy
    Click Here

    "If you can accept losing, you can't win."
    Vince Lombardi

  3. #3
    Sick Geno ya plug P. Diddy's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,393
    Liked
    864 times
    Karma
    148446071
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    213 Post(s)

    Default

    It's not mine trust me, I would have gone to xp years ago. This one is 32 bit by the way...

  4. #4
    Winning is habitual. Len-Det64's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,943
    Liked
    98 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by P. Diddy View Post
    It's not mine trust me, I would have gone to xp years ago. This one is 32 bit by the way...
    There is a 32 bit Windows 7 OS.


    Vote For LGK's Team Sexy
    Click Here

    "If you can accept losing, you can't win."
    Vince Lombardi

  5. #5
    Sick Geno ya plug P. Diddy's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,393
    Liked
    864 times
    Karma
    148446071
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    213 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Len-Det64 View Post
    There is a 32 bit Windows 7 OS.
    Huh didn't know that. This girl doesn't even know what a data back up is though

  6. #6
    All Star




    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4,550
    Liked
    119 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    We had a Toshiba laptop with Vista that had the SAME exact problem. Basically they told us get XP or 7 because Vista is ****ED. Works fine now.

  7. #7
    Winning is habitual. Len-Det64's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,943
    Liked
    98 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    Default

    MS service to Windows XP is on a short leash.


    Vote For LGK's Team Sexy
    Click Here

    "If you can accept losing, you can't win."
    Vince Lombardi

  8. #8
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    182 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Is this on a home network? Are there other workstations on the network that are connected? Try updating the firmware on the router, it may be an issue with the router rather than the laptop.

    You can also try to update the BIOS on the computer and see if that fixes it.
    And thats how you get ants!

  9. #9
    Iím sicka the high hat!! santiclaws's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,869
    Liked
    16877 times
    Karma
    1666409
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    580 Post(s)

    Default

    Vista, once patched, was steady as a rock and it was never as bad as all the whining would lead you to believe in the first place.

    Are you connecting to the router? Is the router connecting to the web? If it is not, that's not the laptop's problem?. If it is connecting to the web, can you ping anything?

  10. #10
    Sick Geno ya plug P. Diddy's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,393
    Liked
    864 times
    Karma
    148446071
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    213 Post(s)

    Default

    It's a home network, every other computer, phone, and game console works fine. I now have it working wired, but when it goes wireless, it's local access only and no ip address shows. I played with tcpip settings, and I even turned off tcpip 6 since I know nothing really uses that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84