Click Here!
Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 109
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: LCD HDTV help needed, please

  1. #81
    Sick Geno ya plug P. Diddy's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,393
    Liked
    861 times
    Karma
    148446071
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    213 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Winsomemore View Post
    3. 5 year Warranty $197.00.

    The warranty was not eligible for any discount.
    FWIW, bb/ps employees do get a slight discount on the extended warranty, not much, i believe 10% or so. fine choice on the tv, i know you're going to love it!

  2. #82
    is busy cogitating. Winsomemore's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    12,296
    Liked
    79 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 20lucfan View Post
    FWIW, bb/ps employees do get a slight discount on the extended warranty, not much, i believe 10% or so. fine choice on the tv, i know you're going to love it!
    The fun part is hooking all this stuff up.

    I goofed last night and put the Time Warner cable box directly to the TV then, hooked up the HTSystem and wondered why it wasn't showing any TV. geez.....

    Forgot that the signal from the TW box goes to the HTS then to the TV.......

    Actually, I plan on splitting the signal: having a direct HDMI connection to the TV at HDMI2 while having the TW box signal come in at HDMI1.
    Last edited by Winsomemore; October 1st, 2009 at 07:32 AM.

  3. #83
    The fun in dysfunctional psychopuck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,321
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Images
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Winsomemore View Post
    The fun part is hooking all this stuff up.

    I goofed last night and put the Time Warner cable box directly to the TV then, hooked up the HTSystem and wondered why it wasn't showing any TV. geez.....

    Forgot that the signal from the TW box goes to the HTS then to the TV.......

    Actually, I plan on splitting the signal: having a direct HDMI connection to the TV at HDMI2 while having the TW box signal come in at HDMI1.
    Does your receiver have HDMI inputs? If it does, I would send the box through it. This way it sends your digital audio to your HTS. Otherwise, you'll have connect it using an optical or coax digital cable.

  4. #84
    is busy cogitating. Winsomemore's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    12,296
    Liked
    79 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by psychopuck View Post
    Does your receiver have HDMI inputs? If it does, I would send the box through it. This way it sends your digital audio to your HTS. Otherwise, you'll have connect it using an optical or coax digital cable.
    I have to go TW Box via co-axial>>>Sony HTS.

    Then, Sony HTS via HDMI output>>>>>TV

    I can't HDMI from the TW Box to the Sony HTS because the Sony HTS HDMI is output only. It does have the co-axial female port on the back. Bummer. Would have liked to HDMI this puppy 100% of the run.
    Last edited by Winsomemore; October 1st, 2009 at 02:05 PM.

  5. #85
    The fun in dysfunctional psychopuck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,321
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Images
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Winsomemore View Post
    I have to go TW Box via co-axial>>>Sony HTS.

    Then, Sony HTS via HDMI output>>>>>TV

    I can't HDMI from the TW Box to the Sony HTS because the Sony HTS HDMI is output only. It does have the co-axial female port on the back. Bummer. Would have liked to HDMI this puppy 100% of the run.
    Are you using the digital coax, or the red & white rca?

    The HTS has an optical input right? I have an extra optical cable if you want it.
    Last edited by psychopuck; October 1st, 2009 at 04:35 PM.

  6. #86
    is busy cogitating. Winsomemore's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    12,296
    Liked
    79 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by psychopuck View Post
    Are you using the digital coax, or the red & white rca?

    The HTS has an optical input right? I have an extra optical cable if you want it.
    I forgot how much fun it is learning how to connect A/V equipment.

    Turns out the Time Warner incoming male cable doesn't have the same co-ax female cable input that is on the back of the Sony HTSystem. So, I just hooked the TW cable box up directly to the TV via HDMI which is what I wanted to do in the first place geez........so much fun.......

    I think I have it all hooked up correctly using HDMI and a red/white dual audio cable for non-HDMI sound.

    Only problem I have is using the Sony HTS remote to synch with turning itself and the TV on. On the TV, went to set up, and yep, it's enabled by default.

    I'm not familiar with optical at all but I will check and get back with you. Thanks!

  7. #87
    Sarcastic Ass nocturn's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    8,131
    Liked
    2658 times
    Karma
    1105000
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    328 Post(s)

    Default

    Make sure you give the 120hz a shot during the HD hockey games. It REALLY works great for quick moving sports!

  8. #88
    is busy cogitating. Winsomemore's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    12,296
    Liked
    79 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nocturn View Post
    Make sure you give the 120hz a shot during the HD hockey games. It REALLY works great for quick moving sports!
    Doin' that right now! Kings stomp Phoenix 5-2.

  9. #89
    is busy cogitating. Winsomemore's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    12,296
    Liked
    79 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Winsomemore View Post
    Doin' that right now! Kings stomp Phoenix 5-2.
    Nocturn, the setting I modified was Motion Flow. I changed it from Standard to Fast, I think. No choppiness.

    Nostradamas in reverse! On to the next game.

  10. #90
    Sarcastic Ass nocturn's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    8,131
    Liked
    2658 times
    Karma
    1105000
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    328 Post(s)

    Default

    Motion Flow on yours is probably the same as Motion Enhancer on mine. I ususally have it 'off' during normal veiwing but switch to 'High' when watching sports.

    I also shut off the light sensor (in Menu>TV>General Setup) and set the picture setting to 'standard' versus vivid for hockey. The ice looks exactally like it does in real life...not that blown out white like most telecasts.

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28