Click Here!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My Beef with the HD21 HDDVR

  1. #1
    waxing poetic Hipcheck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    30,869
    Liked
    1817 times
    Karma
    1020000
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    220 Post(s)

    Default My Beef with the HD21 HDDVR

    I finally upgraded from regular Tivo to the HD Tivo. The picture is wonderful but Ive got a big time beef.

    With the old Tivo I had 2 lines into the box which allowed me to toggle between each line. For example I could pause one tv show and watch the other for a bit and pause that, then go back to the first station and unpause and continue without missing a beat. It was great for Hockey games.

    But with the new box it can record one while watching the other but being able to toggle between two shows and pausing is something that cant be done.

    Is there something Im missing or some type of Mod I can do to get this feature back?

    On a sidenote, kind of surprising that some Primetime shows HD is only 720 while some of the NHL networks shows are 1180. I would have thought some of the Top10 shows would have easily been in the highest quality HD.

    I will say though the sound quality is certainly better as my Receiver automatically switches to Dolby 5.1 when applicable. Very Cool.

    And any HD people here recomend any particular shows or know any mods/tweaks I can make for even better performance? Im using a HDMI cable from the box to my TV and a digital optical cable to the Receiver.

    Anyhow, Id love to get some feedback.
    "How Dare You Trump My Clever Witticism"

    Click 4 LGK INTERNET RADIO ARCHIVE

  2. #2
    Frozen Fury JACKPOT!! dgrycan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10,253
    Liked
    148 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    44 Post(s)

    Default

    Well, you're a little guilty, as your first one was a "TiVo", and your new one is just a DVR.

    There are patents that TiVo holds specific to DVR mechanics that cannot be duplicated. This was one, I was told. Another was during fast-forward/rewinding, when a user hits play again, the unit actually ticks back a small period of time to help navigating.

    BTW . . . the difference between 1080i and 720p is very negligible. Now 1080p is something different, but no one is broadcasting in that format.

  3. #3
    waxing poetic Hipcheck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    30,869
    Liked
    1817 times
    Karma
    1020000
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    220 Post(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the Info. It will take some getting used to not having that feature but I guess the great picture is worth it....especially with the Center Ice announcement of more HD games being added.
    "How Dare You Trump My Clever Witticism"

    Click 4 LGK INTERNET RADIO ARCHIVE

  4. #4
    Let's Get On With It! TonySCV's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10,460
    Liked
    23 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    You'll find this thread of interest:

    I assume you're referring to the HR21 from DirecTV, and not the HD21 from who knows where.

    http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=62118
    "In a year that has been so improbable, the impossible has happened." - Vin Scully being clairvoyant in 1988.

    The Los Angeles Kings - 2012 Stanley Cup Champions

  5. #5
    All Star




    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5,942
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dgrycan View Post
    Another was during fast-forward/rewinding, when a user hits play again, the unit actually ticks back a small period of time to help navigating.
    My Cox HDDVR ticks back a specific amount of time when I hit play after fastforwarding/rewinding.

    Just sayin

  6. #6
    All Star




    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5,942
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TonySCV View Post
    You'll find this thread of interest:

    I assume you're referring to the HR21 from DirecTV, and not the HD21 from who knows where.

    http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=62118
    suddenly I feel really lazy after reading the thoughts of all those professional couch potatoes and their dual buffers.

    No offense Hipcheck Maybe you should accept the loss of the dual buff for the greater good. Besides, you can always just record both games you are watching and not miss a thing by toggling back and forth between recordings instead of buffers.

    Or you can just get a freaking cable splitter and hook up your new HDDVR and your old Tivo back up again. Use the Tivo for whatever isn't recorded in HD.

  7. #7
    waxing poetic Hipcheck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    30,869
    Liked
    1817 times
    Karma
    1020000
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    220 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OrangePuck View Post
    l couch potatoes and their dual buffers.

    No offense Hipcheck Maybe you should accept the loss of the dual buff for the greater good. Besides, you can always just record both games you are watching and not miss a thing by toggling back and forth between recordings instead of buffers.

    Or you can just get a freaking cable splitter and hook up your new HDDVR and your old Tivo back up again. Use the Tivo for whatever isn't recorded in HD.
    I dont want 2 different boxes for one TV...way too overkill for me. Good news here is...I hooked up the old Tive in the the bedroom, used the splitter, and bam-the toggle feature is back in business!!!
    "How Dare You Trump My Clever Witticism"

    Click 4 LGK INTERNET RADIO ARCHIVE

  8. #8
    Socrates
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OrangePuck View Post
    My Cox HDDVR ticks back a specific amount of time when I hit play after fastforwarding/rewinding.

    Just sayin

    My TW 8300HD also does this. Sometimes I wish it didn't.

  9. #9
    All Star




    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5,942
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Socrates View Post
    My TW 8300HD also does this. Sometimes I wish it didn't.
    You must work on your timing skills young grasshoppa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84