Click Here!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Panoramic View with dual monitors

  1. #1
    What can Brown do for you gokingsgo's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,046
    Liked
    46 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default Panoramic View with dual monitors

    So my wifes computer just crapped out and she has decided to stick with her laptop for now. I've decided I'm taking her monitor and hooking it up to my Nvidia 250 GTS and running 2 monitors.

    My question is, using Windows 7 is there a way to make my 2 monitors look like 1 big one?

  2. #2
    Chipping for par lath19's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,319
    Liked
    5 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Isn't that the point of dual monitors? Cloning the display wouldn't make much sense. Check the settings if your video card.
    Posted via Mobile Device

  3. #3
    What can Brown do for you gokingsgo's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,046
    Liked
    46 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lath19 View Post
    Isn't that the point of dual monitors? Cloning the display wouldn't make much sense. Check the settings if your video card.
    Posted via Mobile Device
    That's what i thought too but having done some Google searches I've read a few threads about Windows Vista and 7 not allowing Panoramic view with multi displays. I can't see mirroring being useful at all.

    But i figure someone has to be running multiple monitors with Windows 7, I just can't figure out how.

    My videocard supports extending displays, which makes both usable, but doesn't make them look like 1 large one.

  4. #4
    Win it again..for Tanner! nosoupforyou's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8,659
    Liked
    1276 times
    Karma
    2147483647
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    170 Post(s)

    Default

    I have multiple displays running right now on this laptop.
    Be the Match! www.bethematch.org

    2011 - 2012, we believed, they delivered!
    2012 - 2013, be the best 7th man in the league! and do it again for Tanner!
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=100755849966783

  5. #5
    Waiver Wire Pick-up patbateman's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    7 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gokingsgo View Post
    That's what i thought too but having done some Google searches I've read a few threads about Windows Vista and 7 not allowing Panoramic view with multi displays. I can't see mirroring being useful at all.

    But i figure someone has to be running multiple monitors with Windows 7, I just can't figure out how.

    My videocard supports extending displays, which makes both usable, but doesn't make them look like 1 large one.
    I have been running two monitors on Windows 7 since it was released.... it does essentially run as a "panoramic view" except that your wallpaper graphic will be cloned (i.e. two of the same kings calendar wallpapers .... otherwise you can drag windows from monitor to monitor even leave a window teetering across both monitors....nothing else will be cloned except for the wallpaper image... but if you maximize a window, it will only maximize it on one monitor, it won't go into super duper stretch mode across both screens unless you manually stretch it that way using the window borders...

  6. #6
    Problem Philly? CardiacKid56's Avatar




    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4,724
    Liked
    669 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nosoupforyou View Post
    I have multiple displays running right now on this laptop.
    +1, but I have XP

  7. #7
    What can Brown do for you gokingsgo's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,046
    Liked
    46 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by patbateman View Post
    I have been running two monitors on Windows 7 since it was released.... it does essentially run as a "panoramic view" except that your wallpaper graphic will be cloned (i.e. two of the same kings calendar wallpapers .... otherwise you can drag windows from monitor to monitor even leave a window teetering across both monitors....nothing else will be cloned except for the wallpaper image... but if you maximize a window, it will only maximize it on one monitor, it won't go into super duper stretch mode across both screens unless you manually stretch it that way using the window borders...
    Actually I've discovered Ultramon, which alows me to extend my desktop background on both monitors.

    This is a screenshot of both monitors with one background.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28