Click Here!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: PC not aquiring IP address. Need Help

  1. #1
    Video Game First Liner Ecktore's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,435
    Liked
    1524 times
    Karma
    3123132
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    63 Post(s)

    Default PC not aquiring IP address. Need Help

    Hi guys and girls,

    A few weeks ago, my Mother-in-laws PC starting having this issue where it would connect to her router, but would not obtain an IP address. I've tried disabling her internet card, and updating the drivers, but it would only work once. Meaning it would make the initial connection and obtain the address. But after rebooting, it would go back to not obtaining that address from the router. I've tried using my phone as a modem, and installing a wireless card. They both had the same results as before. They'd make the connection and obtain the address, but after rebooting, they wouldn't work anymore. We thought it might be her router, but every other device in the house worked fine (PC, laptop, XBox, iPod, phone). I took it my house to use on my router, and it had the same issues.

    Any idea what might be causing this? I mean, other than it's not a Mac?

  2. #2
    Win it again..for Tanner! nosoupforyou's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8,656
    Liked
    1272 times
    Karma
    2147483647
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    170 Post(s)

    Default

    is this an internal wireless card for a PC? is it on a card that you can pull, or is it integrated? if it is on a card, pull it and re-seat it in another slot.

    if that doesn't work, buy one from BestBuy and see if that works. you can always return it and buy something cheaper on line (if that does solve it)
    Be the Match! www.bethematch.org

    2011 - 2012, we believed, they delivered!
    2012 - 2013, be the best 7th man in the league! and do it again for Tanner!
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=100755849966783

  3. #3
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    180 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    What OS is she using? Are you getting a constant link light on the NIC when the connection drops?

    You can try opening up a command prompt and typing in..

    netsh int ip reset reset.log
    And thats how you get ants!

  4. #4
    Video Game First Liner Ecktore's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,435
    Liked
    1524 times
    Karma
    3123132
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    63 Post(s)

    Default

    She's running windows XP. I didn't pay attention to any of the lights. I'll have to check that out later tonight after I get home.

  5. #5
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar



    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,563
    Liked
    9321 times
    Karma
    0
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    146 Post(s)

    Default

    it's possible that you may need to access the router via a website and tweak some settings while there.
    Posted via Mobile Device

  6. #6
    Healthy Scratch BigTimeLGKer's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    0 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    You can also try assigning a static IP address to the computer.

    Creeping Death's solution might work too.

  7. #7
    1st Scoring Line !Kings!'s Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,566
    Liked
    244 times
    Karma
    1112672
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    24 Post(s)

    Default

    I would investigate possible malware on the system. There is an app called lspfix.exe that is pretty good about discovering issues with your protocol stack..here is a url.

    LSP-Fix - a free program to repair damaged Winsock 2 stacks

    I use it all the time at work, but it is a use at your own risk deal of course. Since the behavior follows the system I would say that rules out your router as being the cause. i would check your services to see if your dhcp client service is running and its dependencies. There are also some helpful utils and links out there to rebuild winsock if tcpip is the issue, but be careful where you download from. I would also rename your hosts file to see if that may be an issue.

  8. #8
    Zamboni Driver rbochan's Avatar




    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    68
    Liked
    5 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Default

    It might be a tumor.

  9. #9
    1st Scoring Line BigBrown's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,592
    Liked
    706 times
    Karma
    1055400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    39 Post(s)

    Default

    Open command prompt and type:

    ipconfig /release
    net dhcp stop
    net dhcp start
    ipconfig /renew

    Not sure if it's gonna do anything but it's worth a shot.

  10. #10
    Team LGK Essexive's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    247
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rbochan View Post
    It might be a tumor.
    "It's not a tuumah!"

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28