Click Here!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: PS3 vs. Stand alone blu ray player

  1. #1
    THE BIG MORT DIZZLE spjon25's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    6,796
    Liked
    68 times
    Karma
    1021200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    20 Post(s)

    Default PS3 vs. Stand alone blu ray player

    Okay, I have about 200 bucks in Best Buy gift cards and we need a new DVD player. I was looking to make the jump to blu ray and was thinking of a stand alone or a PS3. Now, with the stand alone I would need Wifi built in since it is not close to an outlet. Which one is better of the two? I know PS3 you can play games and has Wifi, but there are some load time issues and always the firmware updates that seem to freeze up a few systems and such. Any help would be needed and appreciated

  2. #2
    Team LGK kozak's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    329
    Liked
    2 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    I have the panasonic dmpbd60 and a netgear wireless bridge. combined, I spent less than $200.

    If you don't want to go that route and can wait another 30-45 days, many mfrs will have blu ray withing built in wireless available
    If you really want something in this life, you have to work for it. Now, quiet! The're about to announce the lottery numbers...

  3. #3
    THE BIG MORT DIZZLE spjon25's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    6,796
    Liked
    68 times
    Karma
    1021200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    20 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kozak View Post
    I have the panasonic dmpbd60 and a netgear wireless bridge. combined, I spent less than $200.

    If you don't want to go that route and can wait another 30-45 days, many mfrs will have blu ray withing built in wireless available
    See, I know that many are coming out, since they debuted at CES, but the price point is like 299, or 249. At that rate, I might just as well get the PS3 and be able to play games (though my wife would kill me). Also, I have a Mac, would the wireless bridge work with the Time Capsule being used as my router?

  4. #4
    Trouble Will Find Me Big Red's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6,931
    Liked
    658 times
    Karma
    1017137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    52 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spjon25 View Post
    See, I know that many are coming out, since they debuted at CES, but the price point is like 299, or 249. At that rate, I might just as well get the PS3 and be able to play games (though my wife would kill me). Also, I have a Mac, would the wireless bridge work with the Time Capsule being used as my router?
    I'd get a PS3. You can do so many more things with it (streaming from your computer, netflix streaming, games, surf the web, etc.)
    Cornell Hockey - LETS GO RED!

    "I love this f***ing team right here."

  5. #5
    Frozen Fury JACKPOT!! dgrycan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10,255
    Liked
    148 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    45 Post(s)

    Default

    You incorrectly mention load times as an issue on the PS3. The PS3 is the fastest BD player on the market bar none. It's also a great media center to - you can store/stream all sorts of stuff through it, and don't forget free netflix streaming as well. It isn't as HUGE of a bang/buck as it was when stand alones were all $300 plus, but it's still a great value. The only REAL downside is the remote issue (no IR for Universal), but there are adapters out there than can handle 99% of the fuctions you use.

    I have a first generation 60GB and a 120GB newer slim (which I was finally able to move thanks to Sony's latest firmware that allowed copyright data to be moved from one PS3 to another), so the 120GB is my feature player now - and not a hitch. Bitstreams DTS-MA and Dolby TruHD as well unlike the early models.

    On a side note - I'm leaving in about an hour to go and work out some issues with a Panasonic BD-60 a friend of mine has - another firmware update is needed!

  6. #6
    Team LGK kozak's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    329
    Liked
    2 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dgrycan View Post
    On a side note - I'm leaving in about an hour to go and work out some issues with a Panasonic BD-60 a friend of mine has - another firmware update is needed!
    Are you trying to download firmware via Viera Cast?
    If you really want something in this life, you have to work for it. Now, quiet! The're about to announce the lottery numbers...

  7. #7
    is watching you.... King Taco's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    6,178
    Liked
    26 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Load time issues on PS3? I never had issues, and I've had one since release. I recently jumped to the slim PS3, and while there are rumors that they're using "cheaper" parts on them, I haven't noticed slowdown or other issues. If anything, it's quieter.

  8. #8
    Frozen Fury JACKPOT!! dgrycan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10,255
    Liked
    148 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    45 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kozak View Post
    Are you trying to download firmware via Viera Cast?
    No . . . the only internet she has in her home is a Verizon wireless card for her laptop, so online wasn't an option. I just burned an ISO (Note for others, Windows XP CD burning good, Vista and Windows 7 BAD) and took it over there and it was done in 10 minutes. Cut down the load time by almost half as well. Still not as fast as the PS3, but much closer.

  9. #9
    2nd Scoring Line Kingfan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    455
    Liked
    0 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by King Taco View Post
    Load time issues on PS3? I never had issues, and I've had one since release. I recently jumped to the slim PS3, and while there are rumors that they're using "cheaper" parts on them, I haven't noticed slowdown or other issues. If anything, it's quieter.
    in most instances it's fine, however the new slim won't drive a long HDMI cable. Nothing over 15'.

  10. #10
    All Star Blueline's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5,738
    Liked
    619 times
    Karma
    10000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    22 Post(s)

    Default

    Load time on my PS3 is great...faster than the Sony BD player in the bedroom. Plus it has Wifi, can play games, download movies, stream Netflix, etc. Much better deal IMO.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84