Click Here!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Quick question about RAM

  1. #1
    Kingslaw
    Guest

    Default Quick question about RAM

    My desktop only has 1gb of ram and I would like to upgrade to 4gb. According to the owners manual I have two 512mb DDR2 533mhz (PC 4200) DIMMs and it is expandable to 4gb (4 DDR2 DIMM slots).

    Now does that mean I have to get 4 1gb DDR2 DIMMS or can I just get two 2gb DDR2 DIMMS?

    Also, do I have to stay at 533 mhz or can I get one that runs faster? (oh and if it helps I have a Gateway GT5408).

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    The gates have opened RoyalPain's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    4,648
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingslaw View Post
    My desktop only has 1gb of ram and I would like to upgrade to 4gb. According to the owners manual I have two 512mb DDR2 533mhz (PC 4200) DIMMs and it is expandable to 4gb (4 DDR2 DIMM slots).

    Now does that mean I have to get 4 1gb DDR2 DIMMS or can I just get two 2gb DDR2 DIMMS?

    Also, do I have to stay at 533 mhz or can I get one that runs faster? (oh and if it helps I have a Gateway GT5408).

    Thanks in advance.
    is this a self-built PC meaning not a name brand computer if it is a name brand computer your best bet would be to go to Kingston.com or Crucial.com and put in the make and model and it will give you what types of RAM you can install whether or not you can use a faster RAM.

    If this is a self-built computer the manual will tell you what type of RAM you can install and show you if you have 2 or 4 RAM slots.

    If you have 2 RAM slots on the motherboard then you can install 2 2GB sticks of RAM if you have 4 slots then 4 1GB sticks.

    http://www.crucial.com/store/listpar...ateway&cat=RAM
    I would choose the second option x 2 the DDR2 PC-6400
    Last edited by RoyalPain; August 10th, 2009 at 04:56 PM.

  3. #3
    Winning is habitual. Len-Det64's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,943
    Liked
    98 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RoyalPain View Post
    is this a self-built PC meaning not a name brand computer if it is a name brand computer your best bet would be to go to Kingston.com or Crucial.com and put in the make and model and it will give you what types of RAM you can install whether or not you can use a faster RAM.

    If this is a self-built computer the manual will tell you what type of RAM you can install and show you if you have 2 or 4 RAM slots.

    If you have 2 RAM slots on the motherboard then you can install 2 2GB sticks of RAM if you have 4 slots then 4 1GB sticks.
    You can also look up the specs for you motherboard (provided that you know the make and model of your motherboard) on line to find out this information.


    Vote For LGK's Team Sexy
    Click Here

    "If you can accept losing, you can't win."
    Vince Lombardi

  4. #4
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    181 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    It depends on the motherboard. I would suggest getting 4 x 1GB. You will never upgrade the memory over the 4gb upgrade you'll put in, so it really doesn't matter which way you go. The 1GB chips should theoretically run faster tho.
    And thats how you get ants!

  5. #5
    The gates have opened RoyalPain's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    4,648
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Creeping Death View Post
    It depends on the motherboard. I would suggest getting 4 x 1GB. You will never upgrade the memory over the 4gb upgrade you'll put in, so it really doesn't matter which way you go. The 1GB chips should theoretically run faster tho.
    according to crucial his motherboard can only handle 1 GB per slot so there isn't a real choice on the 1GB or 2GB sticks.

  6. #6
    Frozen Fury JACKPOT!! dgrycan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10,253
    Liked
    148 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    44 Post(s)

    Default

    I'm just wondering if it's more cost effective to just fill the two empty slots with 1 GB and keep the 512 in the other two for a total of 3GB. What OS are you running? If it's Vista, doesn't the 32-bit version have difficulties with systems over 3GB of RAM?

    While RAM is most definately the biggest bang for the buck, it won't turn a slow computer into a blazing fast machine alone. Don't overkill it.

  7. #7
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    181 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RoyalPain View Post
    according to crucial his motherboard can only handle 1 GB per slot so there isn't a real choice on the 1GB or 2GB sticks.
    I didn't look up his board, so I took a guess that it wouldn't support 2GB chips, so thats why I suggested 4x1GB. Unless you are sporting a quad core, anyone with a LGA775 shouldn't toss more than 4GB into their system. Better off spending a few bucks more and upgrade to an i7 + 6GB RAM.
    And thats how you get ants!

  8. #8
    Kingslaw
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dgrycan View Post
    I'm just wondering if it's more cost effective to just fill the two empty slots with 1 GB and keep the 512 in the other two for a total of 3GB. What OS are you running? If it's Vista, doesn't the 32-bit version have difficulties with systems over 3GB of RAM?

    While RAM is most definately the biggest bang for the buck, it won't turn a slow computer into a blazing fast machine alone. Don't overkill it.
    The goal is to eventually run the 64-bit version of Windows 7.

  9. #9
    Winning is habitual. Len-Det64's Avatar




    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,943
    Liked
    98 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingslaw View Post
    The goal is to eventually run the 64-bit version of Windows 7.
    If your motherboard is limited to only 4Gig of RAM I would suggest upgrading your motherboard and processor to an I7 to run 64 bit Windows 7 with a minimum of 6Gig.

    Edit:

    What CP said:

    Quote Originally Posted by Creeping Death View Post
    I didn't look up his board, so I took a guess that it wouldn't support 2GB chips, so thats why I suggested 4x1GB. Unless you are sporting a quad core, anyone with a LGA775 shouldn't toss more than 4GB into their system. Better off spending a few bucks more and upgrade to an i7 + 6GB RAM.
    Windows XP does not support more than 4Gig of RAM.


    Vote For LGK's Team Sexy
    Click Here

    "If you can accept losing, you can't win."
    Vince Lombardi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28