Click Here!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Thinking of going wireless...

  1. #1
    I'llPutPenniesOnYourEyes jerseydevil's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    34,098
    Liked
    7434 times
    Karma
    1416594
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    784 Post(s)

    Default Thinking of going wireless...

    My computer is too far from my tv after the move and I am considering going wireless. I have no clue where to start and I need to keep things fairly simple, ie cheap. I am planning to get a wireless router to a multi-use gaming port like TRENDnet TEW-647GA Wireless-N Gaming Adapter : Routers | RadioShack.com. I have little idea what I am doing so tell me will this work? I am a poor-to-novice gamer so I do not need ridiculous speed. I know very little about this stuff. Can I use that gaming port for other devices(netbook/bluray) or is that simply for gaming? So, if I have figured this right...about $60 for a wireless router and about the same for the gaming port. How wrong am I. How much trouble is this going to be to set up(remember novice at best) and what changes/adjustments can any of you recommend to give me a better plan? As always, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    I don't rattle, kid. Kubrick's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15,731
    Liked
    1779 times
    Karma
    1148900
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    441 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jerseydevil View Post
    My computer is too far from my tv after the move and I am considering going wireless. I have no clue where to start and I need to keep things fairly simple, ie cheap. I am planning to get a wireless router to a multi-use gaming port like TRENDnet TEW-647GA Wireless-N Gaming Adapter : Routers | RadioShack.com. I have little idea what I am doing so tell me will this work? I am a poor-to-novice gamer so I do not need ridiculous speed. I know very little about this stuff. Can I use that gaming port for other devices(netbook/bluray) or is that simply for gaming? So, if I have figured this right...about $60 for a wireless router and about the same for the gaming port. How wrong am I. How much trouble is this going to be to set up(remember novice at best) and what changes/adjustments can any of you recommend to give me a better plan? As always, any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Do you have an Xbox 360 or a PS3?

    The PS3 has a built in wireless adapter so no "gaming port" is needed.

    If you are using an Xbox 360, the gaming port you mentioned above seems to do the trick. BTW, I found it on Amazon for 39.99 http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Wirel.../dp/B0024G48VA

    This article is a MUST READ before attempting to set up your first wireless network.
    Geek to Live: Set up a home wireless network
    jerseydevil likes this.

  3. #3
    I grew a Fatmanchu. Kingsfan626's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,575
    Liked
    213 times
    Karma
    1170000000
    Images
    1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    51 Post(s)

    Default

    I found it cheaper. $29.99 Newegg.com - TRENDnet TEW-647GA Wireless N Gaming Adapter IEEE 802.11b/g/n Ethernet Port Up to 300Mbps Wireless Data Rates 64/128-bit WEP (Hex & ASCII), WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK (AES/TKIP), WPS but if you have a PS3 I would just buy a nice wireless router because I have 2 PS3s connected with a bunch of tablets, phones and smart tvs and no problem. If they're all in the same room then any old wireless router should do.
    jerseydevil likes this.

  4. #4
    I'llPutPenniesOnYourEyes jerseydevil's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    34,098
    Liked
    7434 times
    Karma
    1416594
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    784 Post(s)

    Default

    thanks for the great advice guys. I love that LGK is a go-to for just about anything.

  5. #5
    I'llPutPenniesOnYourEyes jerseydevil's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    34,098
    Liked
    7434 times
    Karma
    1416594
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    784 Post(s)

  6. #6
    All Star Blueline's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5,731
    Liked
    609 times
    Karma
    10100000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    18 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jerseydevil View Post
    It worked for about a year, but even during that time we had to restart it often. Wireless coverage was so-so (not bad by any means, but not great either)

    Switched to this: Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - RT-N56U

    Alot more money, but in the end is totally worth it for better coverage and that we haven't had to restart it once yet in 8 months. And I can get wireless in my RV parked in the driveway now!
    Last edited by Blueline; December 11th, 2011 at 12:25 PM.
    jerseydevil likes this.

  7. #7
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    181 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Another vote for the Asus router. You can load a different firmware to it like DDWRT which will improve performance and add additional functionality.
    mitchrock and jerseydevil like this.
    And thats how you get ants!

  8. #8
    Chipping for par lath19's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,319
    Liked
    5 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Why bother with a gaming port? From the description it looks like a one port wireless bridge, correct? If so you'd be better off getting a dd-wrt compliant router and turning it into a bridge.

    I have two Asus rt-n12's at my house with a similar setup. One is used as a router the other as a client bridge. I also have an old linksys router that I'm using as a G access point so that my N network doesn't get bottlenecked by a slower device. All running dd-wrt, works great.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B002SQ9ZX2/ref=mp_s_a_3?qid=1323819628&sr=8-3
    jerseydevil likes this.

  9. #9
    I'llPutPenniesOnYourEyes jerseydevil's Avatar




    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    34,098
    Liked
    7434 times
    Karma
    1416594
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    784 Post(s)

    Default

    Hooray and double hooray. I set up my X-Box and Ps3 today...wireless was easy peasy. The best part is that my X-Box already had wireless built in, so I can return the $40 adapter that I bought. Thanks for all the advice guys!

  10. #10
    Still here.... DRice's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3,965
    Liked
    393 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    45 Post(s)

    Default

    Make sure you have it locked down with a wireless security password. Preferably WPA/WPA2. You don't want neighbors spying on you or leaching off of your internet connection!
    LA Kings Hockey - Disappointing Kings fans since 1967!

    LA Kings Hockey - 2012 Stanley Cup Champions!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28