Click Here!
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: Vista Ultimate error 0x8007045D

  1. #21
    Muffisher mudfisher's Avatar




    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,710
    Liked
    519 times
    Karma
    1100000
    Images
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    63 Post(s)

    Default

    How To Install Vista Ultimate Upgrade - Error 0x8007045d FIX! - Windows Vista Forums

    1. Install XP
    2. Activate XP ( Vista Checks to see if your running a Legal Copy Of XP )
    3. Install Service Pack 2

    Thats all you need to do!

    Issues I had and the fixes!

    Ok I just got off the phone with Microsoft Because I was getting this error message "0x8007045d" Cant find required file to complete installation. So this is the fix!!

    Microsoft Sez:

    Create A Folder Called Setup! Copy you Vista DVD to the Folder Called Setup. Run the Setup.exe in the Setup folder!

    To get rid of the error copy the full Vista DVD to a folder called "Setup" on to your hard drive. If you cant Copy the files to your hard drive because you get a copy error of 'ANY KIND!!" Its your DVD Drive!. Microsoft DVD's media seems to have a problem with some DVD Drives Thats why you get the

    "0x8007045d" Cant find required file to complete installation error message. Some people may have the same problem while making backups to DVD disk.

    I was running a BRAND NEW Sony 16x DRU-720a DVD burner was getting that error. So just for fun I took off my Sony DVD Burner and installed an old NEC 4X dvd burner. I was able to copy the Vista DVD files to my hard drive with no problem.

    After I copied the Vista DVD to my hard drive I ran the setup and completed the Vista Ultimate Upgrade with no problems.

    Note:

    Microsoft told me If you select a Clean Install" instead Of "UPGRADE" you will have to call Microsoft to have the finish the "Clean Install" I ask Microsoft tech support if I could have the info on how to do it and he said he was not allowed to do so. IMHO: What a load of crap huh?

    Ok well thats it so the trick is to copy the dvd to a folder on your hard drive! Lets face it will be a lot faster install off you hard drive that your DVD.

  2. #22
    Registered Redophile King Ludwig's Avatar




    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5,184
    Liked
    3185 times
    Karma
    62160000
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    225 Post(s)

    Default

    I never had XP on any of my computers...so that wouldn't be a way for me...

    I'll see about swapping DVD burners... I have about 5 or 6 that I could probably work with...

  3. #23
    THHHHHTTPD!!!! Bandit's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    15,067
    Liked
    85 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OrangePuck View Post
    Run along. Nothing to see here but men working.
    I wouldn't consider spending hours & days just trying to figure out where the light switch is and how to operate it "working," but hey, some things are harder for some people I guess...
    The Original Pancake Hater

  4. #24
    Super Sexy Birdman's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,713
    Liked
    3213 times
    Karma
    400035072
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    489 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OrangePuck View Post
    Run along. Nothing to see here but men Fumbling around with a horrific operating system when the prior version was stable, just as functional, and didn't require 2 GB of RAM to operate
    FTFY

  5. #25
    Registered Redophile King Ludwig's Avatar




    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5,184
    Liked
    3185 times
    Karma
    62160000
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    225 Post(s)

    Default @#$%

    OH for 6!!!

    Three weren't Vista compatible...the other three worked and I'm STILL getting that damn error...

    Maybe I should just call that computer "Murphy"...

    After I get paid for my convention work for this week...I'll get it done professionally... That should take all my OT...and worth every cent...

  6. #26
    Super Sexy Birdman's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,713
    Liked
    3213 times
    Karma
    400035072
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    489 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by King Ludwig View Post
    OH for 6!!!

    Three weren't Vista compatible...the other three worked and I'm STILL getting that damn error...

    Maybe I should just call that computer "Murphy"...

    After I get paid for my convention work for this week...I'll get it done professionally... That should take all my OT...and worth every cent...
    Save yourself the hassle. If you REALLY have to have Vista, go buy a $300 Dell Home computer with it included, and call it a day and install XP Pro on the one you keep mucking with.

    Computers are disposable. Its going to last you 3 to 5 years tops before its obsolete, and everyone else out there that cares HATES Vista with a passion.

    I would like to also mention that it if you want this to surf the net, deal with your pictures and home videos, and grab music, that it may be time for you to consider getting a Mac. Windows computers are now relegating to being used for gaming, and running Vista on one of those is suicide.

  7. #27
    Registered Redophile King Ludwig's Avatar




    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5,184
    Liked
    3185 times
    Karma
    62160000
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    225 Post(s)

    Default

    I bought a cheapo ($15 after my soldier's discount) from THE Salvation Army for testing purposes... I found out that the problem was with the board itself and not the other components I was using... The best thing is that I finished that problem build...sold it for $500 and built a new one with slightly higher specs...

    The only problem I have now is what power supply I should get for an upgrade (800W)...

    I have since had six problem-free builds that went out for a profit...

  8. #28
    Frozen Fury JACKPOT!! dgrycan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10,254
    Liked
    148 times
    Karma
    1030000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    44 Post(s)

    Default

    I will say this - the 64bit version of Windows Vista that I'm using now absolutely destroyed the old 32 bit version I had on a work computer that I ended up stripped and re-formatting with XP. I feel very sorry for the people who hung in with Vista all of this time and they're going to get no olive branch from MS in an upgrade to Windows 7. Suckas.

  9. #29
    Muffisher mudfisher's Avatar




    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,710
    Liked
    519 times
    Karma
    1100000
    Images
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    63 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dgrycan View Post
    I will say this - the 64bit version of Windows Vista that I'm using now absolutely destroyed the old 32 bit version I had on a work computer that I ended up stripped and re-formatting with XP. I feel very sorry for the people who hung in with Vista all of this time and they're going to get no olive branch from MS in an upgrade to Windows 7. Suckas.
    Don't feel sorry for us who like Vista. I have enjoyed the Dx10 that XP doesnt support. While also not having any problems at all. I would say I like vista better then XP.

  10. #30
    Registered Redophile King Ludwig's Avatar




    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5,184
    Liked
    3185 times
    Karma
    62160000
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    225 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dgrycan View Post
    I will say this - the 64bit version of Windows Vista that I'm using now absolutely destroyed the old 32 bit version I had on a work computer that I ended up stripped and re-formatting with XP. I feel very sorry for the people who hung in with Vista all of this time and they're going to get no olive branch from MS in an upgrade to Windows 7. Suckas.
    I still have my 32bit ISO for Win7...and will use it if something horrible goes wrong...

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28