Click Here!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: wireless DSL?

  1. #1
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar



    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,566
    Liked
    9325 times
    Karma
    0
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default wireless DSL?

    I am in the middle of packing up for a move this weekend and do not have much time to do the research, so I am coming here to ask for help from the technological braintrusts of LGK.

    just recently after I ordered my ISP (DSL Extreme) to move my connection to Monrovia, I got a notice from them saying that the order has been cancelled because Verizon which owns the area had suspended their DSL terminal in the area that I am moving to. reasons varied between FiOS upgrade and over-capacity of the DSL lines and needing to upgrade them.

    target date to get the area back online? end of this month or the next. BS! I really don't see myself getting back online without being required to have a phone service running, as I discovered while browsing Verizon's website. beforehand, I was told that all I need was to have a dryloop tagged by Verizon in order to get connected without the need to start the phone service, all without extra charges. right now I am in the AT&T zone which requires having a phone line, something I have to pay for when I'm NOT using the phone at all, it's just a ****in waste of money.

    any better options? as I have my own wireless modem (ActionTEC 54 Mpbs), I wonder if I can do away with getting my computer set up to go completely wireless?
    I BELIEVE I'll have another beer!

  2. #2
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    182 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    Do you have a smart phone? You can tether your mobile phone to your PC, and use it for internet access. Its not fast enough to play games or do a lot of downloading, but its good enough to stream youtube and surf the web. If you don't have a smart phone, this may a good excuse to upgrade to one.

    Also just because DSL Extreme is saying the end of next month, it could take much longer. Its all still on Verizon.
    And thats how you get ants!

  3. #3
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar



    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,566
    Liked
    9325 times
    Karma
    0
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default

    it's not DSL Extreme that I heard the target date from.
    I BELIEVE I'll have another beer!

  4. #4
    Dyno-Mite!! StoneGK's Avatar




    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    640
    Liked
    18 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BeerMan View Post
    I am in the middle of packing up for a move this weekend and do not have much time to do the research, so I am coming here to ask for help from the technological braintrusts of LGK.

    just recently after I ordered my ISP (DSL Extreme) to move my connection to Monrovia, I got a notice from them saying that the order has been cancelled because Verizon which owns the area had suspended their DSL terminal in the area that I am moving to. reasons varied between FiOS upgrade and over-capacity of the DSL lines and needing to upgrade them.

    target date to get the area back online? end of this month or the next. BS! I really don't see myself getting back online without being required to have a phone service running, as I discovered while browsing Verizon's website. beforehand, I was told that all I need was to have a dryloop tagged by Verizon in order to get connected without the need to start the phone service, all without extra charges. right now I am in the AT&T zone which requires having a phone line, something I have to pay for when I'm NOT using the phone at all, it's just a ****in waste of money.

    any better options? as I have my own wireless modem (ActionTEC 54 Mpbs), I wonder if I can do away with getting my computer set up to go completely wireless?
    You do not need a landline to get DSL from AT&T. I haven't had a landline with them for about 4-5 years, but still have my DSL through them. They don't advertise it very much, but if you wanted to, you could have called them and asked them to cancel the landline.

  5. #5
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar



    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,566
    Liked
    9325 times
    Karma
    0
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StoneGK View Post
    You do not need a landline to get DSL from AT&T. I haven't had a landline with them for about 4-5 years, but still have my DSL through them. They don't advertise it very much, but if you wanted to, you could have called them and asked them to cancel the landline.
    well, why the **** have I been paying them jackholes for 9 years?

    I've been hearing from others who had to have AT&T to use DSL.
    I BELIEVE I'll have another beer!

  6. #6
    Dyno-Mite!! StoneGK's Avatar




    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    640
    Liked
    18 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BeerMan View Post
    well, why the **** have I been paying them jackholes for 9 years?

    I've been hearing from others who had to have AT&T to use DSL.
    Cause they are not going to call you and say "Hey Beerman, why don't you just stop paying for that landline and just keep DSL? We have enough money, we don't need to keep customers!"

    I DO have AT&T DSL, which has worked very good for me for many years. I DO NOT have any sort of phone service with them at all.

    AT&T DSL High Speed Internet Service - DSL Providers

  7. #7
    Support the Fans SirJW's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    12,291
    Liked
    1094 times
    Karma
    6810000
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    62 Post(s)

    Default

    Pretty sure you can get DSLexteme w/ out a landline too.

  8. #8
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar



    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,566
    Liked
    9325 times
    Karma
    0
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default

    alright, let's hear how the smartphones work. what kind of a plan do I need to make them as a hub for the PC? what carrier? and how much?

    I am more interested in a 2 for 1 deal than anything as my wench would need a new phone, too.

    btw, the DSL is scheduled to be back on anywhere after May 21. gah.

    and **** TWC. **** them in the ass! (long story).
    Posted via Mobile Device
    Last edited by BeerMan; April 20th, 2010 at 11:52 AM.

  9. #9
    Waiting for the night Creeping Death's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    7,411
    Liked
    182 times
    Karma
    1040100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)

    Default

    You would need to buy a Blackberry or Android based phone, or a phone that would allow you to tether it to your computer via a USB cable.

    Typically if you have a smart phone, you are paying for internet access, approximately $30-$45/month. At least via Verizon, for an additional $15/month, you can add on the tethering package. You would hook your phone up directly to your computer and using your phone carrier's Access Manager, you would dialup and connect via your phone. the connection tends to be about 1MB. If you get an incoming call while on the web, it will interrupt your internet connection so you can take the call.

    If you don't intend to use a Smartphone with internet access, its probably cost prohibitive for you. You can also look into getting an air card directly from your mobile carrier, but they tend to be anywhere from $30-$60 depending on your existing service and what your bandwidth needs are.
    And thats how you get ants!

  10. #10
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar



    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,566
    Liked
    9325 times
    Karma
    0
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default

    all I need is an internet connection to check gmails, surf the web, and **** like that. while the DSL lines in my area are down, I am looking for another option.

    then again, when it comes to mobile phones, I am a dinosaur using a sidekick device that doesn't even have much Java scripting or video capability. now I forget that there are phones that would allow me to fulfill the option mentioned above while I wait for the DSL terminal to go back online.

    might as well stick with TMobile and take advantage of the deals made specially for long-time customers.
    Posted via Mobile Device

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83