Click Here!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: wireless hub monitoring software?

  1. #1
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,567
    Liked
    9329 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Question wireless hub monitoring software?

    I have a wireless modem. have had it for over a year. recently the wireless light has been blinking which would indicate some activity going through there from a remote hub, right?

    the only time it ever blinks is when my tivo with a wireless adapter would be sending a recorded program to the PC. as of now, there isn't anything being transfered. so I am saying that something else is going on and I need to find out.

    I'm sure there's a program that monitors and detects unwanted useage/intrusion through my hub. I just have a hard time trying to find a decent program.

    help a brother out, yo?
    I BELIEVE I'll have another beer!

  2. #2
    Socrates
    Guest

    Default

    Do you mean a wireless network adapter? How is it setup, you just have an ad-hoc connection from the Tivo straight into the computer? That's what it sounds like you are saying. Do you have encryption set up?

    What you could do is download "advanced port scanner" from download.com and scan your IP range to see what shows up.

    Some antivirus packages have network node detection - for example Trend Micro Internet security (PCCillin) has this. It will look at the network every 30 minutes and if anyone new shows up it warns you about it.

    If I'm wrong about your setup and you actually have a network router or AP doing the wireless, any decent one will have status areas in it telling you the mac addresses of the devices connected wrielessly and if the clients are using DHCP it will tell you that info (some but not all will detect non-dhcp clients).

  3. #3
    Media Muthaf***in Maestro styx66's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,174
    Liked
    0 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    what kind of blinking are you talking about.. constant blinking as if there's a large data transfer in progress, or occasional single-double-triple blinks?

    it could be as simple as your wireless router asking your tivo if it is still there, and vice versa. because they do that...

  4. #4
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,567
    Liked
    9329 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by styx66 View Post
    what kind of blinking are you talking about.. constant blinking as if there's a large data transfer in progress, or occasional single-double-triple blinks?

    it could be as simple as your wireless router asking your tivo if it is still there, and vice versa. because they do that...
    constant blinking.

    negative on the router asking Tivo since I've turned off Tivo's desktop server.
    I BELIEVE I'll have another beer!

  5. #5
    The fun in dysfunctional psychopuck's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,321
    Liked
    1 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Images
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    When it's blinking, log into the router & see who has DHCP leases.

  6. #6
    FIRE BETTMAN!! BeerMan's Avatar




    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18,567
    Liked
    9329 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Images
    39
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    148 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by psychopuck View Post
    When it's blinking, log into the router & see who has DHCP leases.
    apparently, it listed just my machine.
    I BELIEVE I'll have another beer!

  7. #7
    I grew a Fatmanchu. Kingsfan626's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,577
    Liked
    213 times
    Karma
    1520000000
    Images
    1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    53 Post(s)

    Default

    Anytime anything wireless is searching for a connection (i.e. neighbor trying to hook up to their Wifi) your lights will blink. There should be an activity log inside your router so log in to your router and check it out. Most default settings for routers is 192.168.0.1 so type that in IE or Firefox, enter your user id and password and check for activity log.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28