NEW YORK -- NHL owners have made it official: The Detroit Red Wings and Columbus Blue Jackets are heading east. The league announced Thursday that its board of governors approved a realignment plan that will go into effect next season. The new format will feature two eight-team divisions in the Eastern Conference, and two seven-team divisions in the West.