Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
  1. #11
    Bring on Vancouver! USCKingsFan31's Avatar




    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,645
    Liked
    1367 times
    Karma
    1671490
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    463 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TooCool View Post
    He pitched 3 innings, so he gets the save regardless of the score. Same thing happened just last night when the Angels creamed the Yankees 18-9. A rookie pitcher for the Angels pitched 3 innings, and got the save despite getting rocked.
    Just to clarify, it has to be the last 3 innings (or more), all with the lead. Holding a lead through the 7th, 8th, and 9th is a save (very very rare, only see this in blowouts, where they bring in an inning-eater to rest the quality guys in the bullpen).

    Obviously the most common save is the protecting a 1, 2, or 3 run lead variety. Still counts as a save if the pitcher gets his team out of the 8th inning, and they go on to put up 5 more runs in the next frame... if he finishes up in the 9th, he is still awarded the save.

    It is also a save opportunity if in the 9th inning (or the 8th and then finished in the 9th) the tying run reaches the on-deck circle. So coming into a 4-run lead game with two base runners on OR a 5-run lead with the bases loaded constitutes a save chance.

    /end Saves 101

  2. #12
    Bad Monkey FMC Bubbadel2's Avatar




    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2,045
    Liked
    3 times
    Karma
    1035319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    damn now there is an old skool ass whippin

  3. #13
    MVP SuxBeingU's Avatar




    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    11,754
    Liked
    147 times
    Karma
    1005000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    26 Post(s)

    Default

    another amazing part of this is Texas left 19 men on base

  4. #14
    THHHHHTTPD!!!! Bandit's Avatar




    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    15,067
    Liked
    61 times
    Karma
    1000000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TooCool View Post
    He pitched 3 innings, so he gets the save regardless of the score. Same thing happened just last night when the Angels creamed the Yankees 18-9. A rookie pitcher for the Angels pitched 3 innings, and got the save despite getting rocked.
    Hmm, I didn't know that. Seems like an odd rule. Thanks for the clarification.
    The Original Pancake Hater

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28