Offsides Review Rule

Johnnysuede71

4th Line Grinder
Hello fellow Kings Fans,

Loooooong time reader and follower of this site but this is my very first time posting. One of the best parts of my day is coming on here and catching up on fan reaction to a team I have been following passionately for 35 years. (I even have a Kings tattoo). Thanks to Rinkrat and Hipcheck and all of the other folks who have kept this site alive out of our mutual adoration of our beloved team. That said I can't imagine posting too often...but something has been bothering me lately and after lasts night's deflating gut-punch of a loss to an obviously inferior team I simply had to vent about my dislike of the offside review rule.

My take: If people or technology are constantly monitoring whether plays are offside or not then why not just stop play immediately? The sole purpose of this rule is to overturn a goal...period...even when that goal is scored sometimes 30-45 second after the 'infraction' as was the case in last nights debacle. I think it really flies in the face of the spirit of the game and the fact that at such high speeds human error will always be a component and should be expected as part of the game. Some nerds sitting in a room below the arena waiting for a goal to be scored and then rewinding it to make sure it wasn't offsides is an embarrassment to the game in my opinion. I might be able to understand it if the missed offside call led DIRECTLY to a goal like on a breakaway or an outnumbered attack....but in these instances....almost a minute of time spent in the offensive zone later...getting the goal called back seems almost petulant...for lack of a better word.

I'm not just whining because my team got the short end of the stick last night. I know the Kings have benefitted from this rule as well in the past. I just think it's flat out wrong and bad for the game.

Welcome your thoughts and thanks for having me! GKG (Looking like a hell of a team this year!)

Johnnysuede